Henry E. Huntington Middle School

PTA » Home


On behalf of the HMS PTA, welcome back to school!  This year, our HMS PTA slogan is “Together is Better.” I hope that it helps us all to remember that when parents, teachers, and students work together, we are better.

First, I would like to congratulate Mrs. Alana Faure and Mr. Richard Barclay on their appointments as the school’s new principal and assistant principal! The PTA is looking forward to working in concert with them throughout the year.

We have been busy preparing another fun-filled year of activities for students and parents alike. Julie Foong, David Wang, and their committee have been hard at work gearing up for the Hauntington Breakfast on October 20th. Jennifer Yessian and Brent Bilvado have been organizing their committee to execute an amazing Parent Party on January 26, 2019. Jennifer Kamal and Sue Nesnas are in full swing preparing for our all-new Spring Fundraiser on February 22, 2019. In addition, PTA is organizing sixth grade dances, Reflections, Noontime Fun, and Career Day.

The staff is hard at work getting for the three grade-level educational sleep-away camps. Sixth grade will head to Wonder Valley, located close to the majestic Sequoia National Forest. Seventh graders will board a ferry to Catalina Island, while our eighth graders will make a trek up to the Pali Institute near Lake Arrowhead. My college son remembers these trips as being the most memorable three weeks of his time at HMS.

There is an opportunity to participate in our nine sports teams throughout the year, including basketball, football, cheer, volleyball, track & field, cross country, soccer, and softball. The school also offers a variety of clubs and activities: WEB, ASB, Speech Team, Mock Trial, Interact, Yearbook, Math Team, Science Olympiad, Huntington Horn, Jesus for Life, Robotics, Yay Club, Board Game Club, and the annual play. Can’t find something on this list your child would be interested in? Students are encouraged to start their own clubs.

     Please refer to the academic calendar for a detailed list of holidays and special events. The best way to stay connected throughout the year is through the SMUSD app, weekly updates from FoxFacts, and the HMS website.


Finally, I would like to extend a warm invitation to all of you to attend our PTA Association meetings. They will be held in the cafeteria on Tuesday mornings at 8:45am. There will be opportunities to hear from the executive board, committee chairs, principal, and guest speakers from our district and community. You will also have a chance to ask questions and provide valuable feedback.

The dates are as follows:

August 28, 2018

September 25, 2018

October 23, 20178

January 22, 2019

March 12, 2019

May 21, 2019

As this school year begins in earnest with homework, practices, and games, please make the time to check in with your kids. Have a meal together- even something as simple as sharing a scoop of ice cream! Take time to connect with your kids- I find mine talk the most when they are trapped in the car with me! Set a bedtime- for your child and their phones! Hug them every day- even if that means sneaking up on them! And most importantly, tell them what you know… they are the most important part of your life.

Please reach out to me with any concerns or questions you may have at huntingtonmiddleschoolpta@gmail.com.

Go Foxes!!!